The Wattle Series

Designed for children in their second year of school (Year 1), and for older pupils still developing their reading skills, these decodable readers follow an advanced phonic sequence and build on the InitiaLit Readers Levels 1-9.

These readers have simpler storylines and less complex text than Series 1. The stories have been carefully crafted so your child can practise their developing reading skills. Levels 10-16 follow an advanced phonic sequence and cover both fiction and non-fiction text types.

Series 2, Level 10-16 targeted sounds:

  • Level 10: Review of sounds learned previously
  • Level 11: ai/ay, ee/ea, oa/ow, igh/y, ew/ue
  • Level 12: ar, or/ore, er/ir/ur, ear/eer, air/are
  • Level 13: split digraph
  • Level 14: ou/ow, au/aw, oi/oy
  • Level 15: vowel digraph review and tch/dge
  • Level 16: Review of levels 10-15

Parents and caregivers can help children by focusing on targeted sounds, vocabulary and punctuation through pre-reading activities. In addition, the post-reading activity offers comprehension questions so parents can encourage discussion about the story.

One reader in each bundle is a Shared reader, allowing an adult to provide extra support by reading together with a child (alternating pages). Shared Readers allow for the introduction of more complex words that adults can help children learn and add to their vocabulary.

The Wattle Series of InitiaLit Readers was named the winner in the inaugural Decodable Book Series category at the Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards 2022! Read more here.

More Information About The Wattle Series

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Integer molestie viverra leo at suscipit. Nulla interdum viverra est, at facilisis lectus. Suspendisse mattis finibus magna. Phasellus in ex massa. Vestibulum maximus ultrices commodo. Fusce lacinia placerat turpis a ullamcorper. Nunc eget justo eget turpis laoreet feugiat et eget urna.

Ut sagittis risus orci, tristique maximus augue viverra eu. Quisque vehicula pharetra justo. Suspendisse non turpis sit amet nibh hendrerit ultricies non quis tellus. Morbi ultricies lectus a urna dapibus, id viverra sapien consectetur. Aliquam pulvinar leo eget vestibulum porta. Aliquam vel ultricies odio, a ultrices eros. Nam ut feugiat nisl, id feugiat sapien. Interdum et malesuada fames ac ante ipsum primis in faucibus. Fusce porta nibh vel turpis efficitur mollis. Orci varius natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus.

Nam ante lorem, gravida id euismod et, feugiat eu quam. Praesent at aliquet lectus, sit amet egestas lectus. Morbi varius massa ac mauris maximus, sit amet malesuada sem dignissim. Nulla vehicula lectus et justo ullamcorper malesuada. Etiam eu eros vel urna interdum consequat. Aliquam laoreet fermentum neque vitae laoreet. Sed metus metus, ornare et convallis in, ullamcorper fringilla justo. Pellentesque in diam sit amet ligula porta suscipit. Proin sed nisi velit. Nunc pellentesque odio urna, nec vulputate nibh consectetur vel. Integer non dignissim turpis.

About our categories

Picture books
Picture books cover a diverse range of topics, expose children to words and language they might not hear normally in conversation, and teach children how reading works (left to right, top to bottom). In this narrative style, the illustrations work with the text so children can ‘read’ the story for themselves before they understand the individual words and decode the text. Picture books are also useful vehicles for introducing sensitive subjects or talking about values.

Decodable readers
Designed for children in their first few years of school, these delightful and engaging decodable readers help your child build confidence in decoding skills and reading fluency. Each title in each bundle includes instructions and pre- and post-reading activities to help parents and caregivers use the books effectively. Titles are numbered based on the difficulty level of each book. They are designed to be read sequentially, allowing children to gain confidence and skills level by level.

High-interest books for older readers
Low-progress readers have typically faced some frustration and disappointment in their reading. But regular (preferably daily) reading practice using both fiction and non-fiction texts is vital for these students to develop their skills and confidence. MultiLit’s new Firecracker Books aim to spark the interest of older students in reading by providing engaging and accessible books at an appropriate level of difficulty.

Academic books
Members of the MultiLit Research Unit (MRU), together with their academic colleagues, publish books that are useful to educators, educational psychologists and other allied health professionals wanting to dive deeper into evidence-based approaches to literacy and behaviour management. Learn more about the MRU.

Other resources
These resources can help parents support their children’s literacy development at home.

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!